Craft #2: Melty Crayon Art

On my first night back at school, my friend Miko came over to paint a masterpiece, so I used the opportunity to cross another craft off my list.  This was something that I discovered on Pinterest… melty crayon art!!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • Canvas (or maybe some foam board)
  • Black paint
  • Crayons
  • Hot glue gun
  • Hair dryer
  • Glitter (optional :-))
Start by painting your canvas black.  I used acrylic paint and a foam brush to make sure it applied evenly.  This step is optional (the other versions I’ve seen used a plain white canvas), I just thought it might look cool on the black backdrop. If I do this again, I will probably leave the canvas white!

I only had 5 crayons to work with.  In the other versions I’ve seen, they use the whole crayon and leave the paper on (which I think looks better) but since I only had a few, I had to take the paper off and cut them into pieces.  Again, it is up to you and the look you want to go for!

Taking the paper off these crayons was hard!  They really glue them down these days.  I cut mine into four pieces each.

Choose the order you want your colors to be in.  I alternated mine in rainbow order, but if you have a larger variety of colors, you can mix it up!

Put some hot glue on the top of the canvas and stick your crayons on!  I found out that [surprise surprise!] hot glue melts the crayon wax… which is why leaving the paper wrapper on is a good idea.

Fortunately I got them all on there!  Prop your canvas up at about a 45 degree angle.

Turn your hair dryer on the hottest setting and direct it at the crayons.  After 30 seconds or so they get shiny and start to melt… it really happens quickly!  I used the lower setting on my hair dryer because the higher setting was blowing wax drops all over… I have a feeling that wouldn’t have happened if the crayons were still in their labels, because the paper would control the area of the crayon that is melting.

Keep your dryer on for as long as you want.  You can concentrate it in one area to make it melt more, whatever you’d like!  The wax dries fairly quickly, which is nice.

I added glitter at the last second while the wax was still wet because I wasn’t thrilled with the way mine looked, but that part is optional!

Ta-da!  I hung it in our kitchen for everyone to enjoy 🙂  Plus we had a really awkward empty wall space that was crying out for some color.

Two crafts down, fifty more to go!

Leave a Reply

