Vegetarian Chili

Before I share my next craft, I thought I’d share my award-winning* vegetarian chili recipe.  It is very hearty and perfect for frigid winter days.

*I never technically won an award for it, but I DID enter it into a chili contest and overheard a woman telling her husband that it was really good.  That’s pretty much a win to me.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 4 cans of different types of beans.  I used black beans, kidney beans, butter beans, and garbanzo beans, but you can mix it up
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes (plain or with chili seasoning already added)
  • Frozen corn (12 oz)
  • 1/2 of a medium onion
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • Packet of taco seasoning
  • Olive oil
  • A stove or alternate heating source

Roughly chop the onion and red pepper.

Heat up a little bit of olive oil in a large pot on medium high heat.  Add the onions and peppers and stir occasionally.  You can also add a little salt, which brings out the onion-y juices and helps them cook faster.

Open up the cans of beans and drain and rinse them.

Beans are so great.  I am pretty sure they’re healthy but I’m no expert.

I got hooked on beans my first year of college.  I added them to my salads in the dining hall, and pretty soon I was eating spinach and bean salads all the time.  Okay, that doesn’t sound that appealing but they’re very good!

I like mixing up the colors and sizes of the beans so that the chili is super jazzy.

Anyway, enough about beans.  Add your diced tomatoes plus the juices into the pot.  Here’s an action shot to demonstrate:

Check out these fancy cans!  Kroger has really outdone themselves.

Dump in all the beans, and add the taco seasoning.  I usually add some water, about 1 can-full.  Stir it up and simmer for 15-20 minutes.  If you want it thicker, you can stir in a spoonful or two of flour.

Add your desired toppings (cheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeese).  You could also very easily add meat to this chili.  When I made this for my family a few weeks ago, my brother asked where the meat was… gosh.

Yummm 🙂

Happy Saturday!

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Chili

Leave a Reply

